Going from the Square of the Fallen Fighters (Ploshchad Pavshykh bortsov) to the right along Ulitsa Mira in the direction of the Planetarium (Planetary), you can reach the Gorky Library, enjoy quiet streets and admire old houses, have a rest in the park.
Volgograd Planetarium (Planetary) is one of the largest and most beautiful planetariums in Russia. The Planetarium was designed and manufactured in Jena and was a gift by the government of the GDR to the Soviet people as a symbol of desire for peace and progress. The opening of the planetarium was held in 1954. The building attracted attention by its architectural design. The hemispherical dome is crowned by a sculpture symbolizing Peace and Work. On the frieze of the building the names of great Russian and foreign astronomers are inscribed. In front of the building there are two sculptural groups expressing the desire of people to science and knowledge. Blue spruce in front of the entrance to the Planetarium fits in well with the overall ensemble. The main entrance is decorated with massive columns. Planetarium is fully lined with natural stone - travertine, which was transported from Germany.
In the lobby of the Planetarium at the entrance there is a large mosaic portrait of Joseph Stalin. In the years of exposure of a cult of Stalin’s personality the management of Planetarium was ordered to destroy the unique mosaic collected from the Ural semi-precious stones, but the workers regretted to destroy such work and mosaic was just plastered for many years. In early 90es the unique work was found again. In the yard of the Planetarium there is a private astronomical observatory. With the telescope you can observe the Sun and spots on it, the Moon with its craters, mountains, seas, and during evening supervision you can see planets, stars, comets, star congestions, and also close galaxies. The Planetarium offers its visitors tours and themed lectures.
In the park near the Gorky Library there is the ancient building of the Synagogue (Sinagoga). This is a brick rectangular building with an expressive front decor and windows. In the late 19th and early 20th century about 800 Jews lived in Tsaritsyn, so in 1888 the first synagogue-school was opened on the territory of modern Voroshilovsky district.
In 1911 the second synagogue was built on Ulitsa Port Saida. In 1926-1928 the main entrance to the building was constructed, the stone fencing with iron gate was erected and a garden around the building was arranged. In the period of the Soviet power in 1929 the synagogue was closed, the club was opened in the building. Nowthereisaphysiotherapyclinic. In the park there is also the Grigory Zasekin Monument (Pamyatnik Grigoriyu Zasekinu), the first governor of fortress-cities on the Volga. The sculptor Vladimir Seryakov presented the Governor of Tsaritsyn riding a warhorse rushing his gaze beyond the Volga, where at any moment nomads could come. The total height of the bronze sculptural composition together with a pedestal is about 6.6 m. It is known that Grigory Zasekin was in distant relationship with Ivan the Terrible, took part in the Russian-Swedish war in 1570-1595, participated in the Livonsky campaign, and a bit later (in 1589) accepted one of the major decisions in the state career on construction the fortified city Tsaritsyn on the bank of the Volga.