The Gusevskiy Akhtyrskiy Convent was established more than 100 years ago in the village of Gusevka, Olkhovskiy district of Volgograd region. Princess Elizabeth Godeyn, Bagration's relative, sponsored the construction of the convent.
The Holy Trinity Kamenno-Brodskiy Monastery is one of the most beautiful and visited monasteries in the Lower Volga region. The monastery is known for its miraculous icon of the God's Mother "Joy of All Who Sorrow" and the caves which take the second place after the Mount Athos caves for their holiness.
The Dubovskiy Svyato-Voznesenskiy Convent has its own interesting history. It was built in 1871 as the sorority not far from Dubovka town on the right bank of the Volga River,that is 70 kilometers from Volgograd. Thanks to the prayers of the convent’s founder – Archpriest Ioann Pokrovskiy – the source of water miraculously appeared.
The Svyato-Voznesenskiy Kremenskoy Monastery was built several kilometres from Kremenskaya village on the bank of the Don river in 1693. The founder of the Kremenskoy Monaster was hieromonch Nikanor. The Kremenskoy Monastery is considered as one of the ancient monasteries of the Don Cossack Army.
The Ust-Medveditskiy Spaso-Preobrazhenskiy Convent was founded in Serafimovich in 1652 not far from the Don River. There are two fascinating churches within the convent – the Church of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God with the upper and lower levels and the Church of the Transfiguration, topped with 33 domes.